Strong & Steadfast

josh

“I will be with you; I will not leave you nor forsake you… I command you be strong and steadfast! Do not fear nor be dismayed, for the Lord, your God, is with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:5, 9)

Have you ever felt completely alone? It’s not an uncommon feeling really. IN fact it’s a very natural fear. It starts as an emptiness that we try to fill with pointless things. At a certain point we may fall to the temptation of just giving up. We risk despair of ever finding what will fill that emptiness.

The other end of that spectrum is wanting to be alone. Similar to its counterpart, it is usually a selfish desire. Often driven by a desire for something better. It can be triggered by an endless array of things. It seeks solitude, an over exaggeration of our own independence,

My question to you is, what is missing from both of these conditions? I see that they both ignore the constant presence of God in our lives. Just as God promised Joshua when he called him to lead, and Christ re-iterated to his apostles before ascending into heaven.

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations… and behold I am with you always, even to the end of time” (Matthew 28: 19-20)

God is always present in our lives both when our problems seem to big and we feel alone, and when we believethat we alone should worry about our problems.

So yeah, I will remain “Strong and Steadfast” knowing that Christ walks with me. Ready to aid me when this life gets to hard. As Matt Maher sings, “Lord I need you. Oh I need you! Every hour I need you.”

Peace, Love, and Happiness…

–Joe

One comment

  1. Lisa Reinkemeyer · October 12, 2015

    Great Post Joe, sharing and “knowing” our God, and the people God puts in our life, is the most awesome part of loving. Caring enough to share is a huge part of life.

Leave a Reply

