Lead Me Home

Author’s note: the following is taken from a witness talk I gave in high school to a group of my catholic peers at an eXaLT adoration of the Blessed Sacrament.

Alright, so we’ve probably all heard the common saying “Home is where the heart is.” Pretty cliche, but let’s run with it. Although I’m going to revise it just a little and say, “Home is where the heart belongs.” Because to me being lead home is a matter of priority. Luke wrote in his gospel:

Instead, seek his kingdom, and these other things will be given you besides. Do not be afraid any longer, little flock, for your Father is pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your belongings and give alms. Provide money bags for yourselves that do not wear out, an inexhaustible treasure in heaven that no thief can reach nor moth destroy. For where your treasure is there will your heart be. (Luke 12:31-34)

So we have to choose to build up these treasures in our eternal home; we do this by simply living our faith. But this is usually harder than it sounds, right? Let’s be honest, when someone asks what you’re doing on a friday night most of us usually say something like work, or listening to music, or I’m going to hang out with friends. How often do young people like ourselves say I’m going to spend my friday night praying at church? For me, I occasionally have to look at my life and try to figure out what is really helping me achieve that eternal treasure Luke wrote about. If we successfully narrow our lives down to only what helps us, then we can be really excited! Because this should be our goal, going home, getting to heaven. God leads us there, by giving us everything we need to become holy. And I hope someday I’ll be able to say as St. Paul said,

I have competed well; I have finished the race. I have kept the faith. (2 Timothy 4:7)

And I pray: Lord guide my heart and make me holy. Lead me where my heart belongs, lead me home to you. Amen.

Peace, Love, and Happiness…

–Joe

bc0e1142aeefc6e58799613540d922f2

Leave a Reply

